Biology at UConn

Insect collage copyBiologists at the University of Connecticut are located in three departments: Ecology & Evolutionary Biology (EEB), Molecular & Cell Biology (MCB), and Physiology & Neurobiology (PNB).

Faculty members across the three departments are involved in cutting-edge research. View the research pages of EEB, MCB, and PNB to see the exciting research happening across the three biology departments.  The faculty is committed to teaching and mentoring undergraduates students. Undergraduate biology students can find opportunities to get involved in research.  Each spring, talented biology seniors showcase their research at the Undergraduate Research Colloquium.

There are 5 undergraduate majors in biology:

Biology undergraduate majors make up one of the largest majors in CLAS with about 2000 students at the Storrs campus.  The numbers of biology majors are broken down into the following:

  • BIOL = 1141
  • BPHYS = 28
  • EEB = 52
  • MCB = 315
  • PNB = 453

Students can obtain a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degree in any of the majors listed above.  Additionally, a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree, with slightly different requirements, is available for Biological Sciences and Ecology and Evolutionary Biology.